Living in a House of Cards: Musings from the inside











{September 28, 2009}   3 Reasons to Be Honest About How You’re Feeling

First let me say I am a recovering fixer & have generally learned the lesson about how people often do not want you to “fix” their problems. Usually they just want someone to listen & understand or sometimes they just want to rant. It is much the same as the way we want & even need others to understand what we are going through with Fibromyalgia. Don’t just be dismissive of them because in most cases the small issues these “constant complainers” are complaining about are just as important to them as our FMS symptoms are to us. Honestly I am envious of them and their small issues. Oh but for the day when those will again be the only often  issues I have to deal with!

I’ve mostly learned this about people trough my own experiences with others giving endless advice on ways to “fix” my “issues” when all I wanted was a shoulder to cry on or someone to just listen until I got it out of my system)
That said…
After spending nearly 11 years not complaining or opening up about the related issues & pain from FMS I no longer keep it to myself because I have realized a few of things since I started being open about how I feel:

1) It only makes our pain worse by keeping it all in or faking it (as I did most of the time) because it is an extra & unnecessary effort that causes stress which can & often does cause flair ups.

2) When we do not complain we are doing nothing to increase awareness of Fibro. I am not saying we should whine all day in order to get the word out but if “outsiders” or to be more PC about it “non-sufferers” don’t know how hard it is pn a daily basis (and don’t hear about our bad days (in addition to our good ones) from someone they know who has this illness – someone who can put a face to an invisible illness that they have only heard about through commercials (since the pharmaceutical companies finally realized there was money to be made in finding treatments) or from someone who knows someone then how are those around us, in our lives & the general population ever going to even begin to understand that we may not look sick but we are sick & how will more people ever learn how real FMS is? The more people talk about it and are honest about how they are feeling the sooner people will stop thinking that it is just some psychosomatic issue or that we are all just a bunch of hypochondriac & that the doctors only gave it a name to make us go away.

3) When we stop faking it we end up saving a lot of energy & feel a bit better because faking it takes more out of you than you may realize & pain is exhausting enough on it’s own. We all know that we have enough fatigue as it is not to add to it by faking or hiding the truth.

Note:
I am not talking about constant complaining here – nothing else would come out of our mouths if we complained every time we were in pain! Nor am I talking about becoming one of those draining people who suck your energy dry every time they are around while they fish for sympathy. I am talking about being honest with yourself and others.

Tip: When people say/ask “How are you?/How ya doin? I usually ask them “Do you want the truth or what I tell everybody?” You’d be surprised how many people actually tell you they were just being polite and didn’t really want an answer! Some however want to know the truth. I respect the “not really group & those in the wanting the truth camp I am grateful for because hopefully they will spread the word.

And for now I will step off of my soapbox because sleep is finally calling me.

Good Night or Morning depending on where you are.

~Heather

3AM EST



Honestly, people have become so antisocial and are almost on autopilot( referring to your last paragraph). When people are walking towards me and ask how I am but have no intention of stopping for a moment. I don’t even bother answering. I really tired of that kind of stuff lol. I haven’t lost any friends yet but I’m sure they are talking.



hlhosteh says:

So true. So many people, dare I say most people are on auto-pilot and treat “How are you/How ya doin” are rhetorical questions. But there are those rare few who really do want to know how you are & what’s going on. So for those few I answer honestly, which let me tell you is not easy! I have lost a few friends due to my illness but none due to posing the “Do you really want to know” question.



jessiev says:

brilliant post. about 10 years ago, i stopped trying to “pass” as healthy. it was taking too much energy. i also got rid of toxic people, and friends that didn’t really care. it helps a lot, personally, to KNOW that thepeople you talk with actually CARE.



hlhosteh says:

Thank you for your kind words& for stopping by my blog. I am really glad you liked the post! Toxic people…that is a phrase I use often and was looking for last night when I wrote the post. Thanks also for giving me the word so I can use it in future posts! I think I am going to do a complete post about Toxic People. Who you should have around you & who is only making you worse!
Cheers,
Heather



[…] 3 Reasons to Be Honest About How You’re Feeling « Living in a House of Cards: Musings from the in… livingahouseofcards.wordpress.com/2009/09/28/3-reasons-to-be-honest-about-how-youre-feeling – view page – cached First let me say I am a recovering fixer & have generally learned the lesson about how people often do not want you to “fix” their problems. Usually they just want someone to listen & understand… (Read more)First let me say I am a recovering fixer & have generally learned the lesson about how people often do not want you to “fix” their problems. Usually they just want someone to listen & understand or sometimes they just want to rant. It is much the same as the way we want & even need others to understand what we are going through with Fibromyalgia. Don’t just be dismissive of them because in most cases the small issues these “constant complainers” are complaining about are just as important to them as our FMS symptoms are to us. Honestly I am envious of them and their small issues. Oh but for the day when those will again be the only often issues I have to deal with! (Read less) — From the page […]



Dominique says:

I am amazed at how small this world is. I have been suffering now for three years with this “it’s all in your head illness”, without anyone who really know what I am feeling and yet you, one of my best childhood friends has been suffering with this horrible neverending battle. I have had to stop taking every thing for pain and only have the Cymbalta left, and am terrified. Please let me know what you have heard about the side effects of this withdraw, it hurts physically and emotionally. I just found your site so I will continue to read about your experiences. I am so happy to have found you.



I find myself giving the automatic response to “How are you?” all the time: “I’m good, you?” I’ve been trying to be a little more truthful by saying, “I’m okay,” or “I’m alive, so it could be worse, right?” You’re right, though; most people really don’t want to hear anything other than “I’m good, you?” We’ve all become so accustomed to playing that game that we’ve managed to become desensitized to what is happening in other people’s lives — pain or no pain. It’s sad and kind of scary at the same time.



Leave a comment

et cetera